THE TERROIR

Our high-altitude terroir (350 metres) is predominantly clay-limestone. However, since 2004, within our vineyard according to the terroir and the climate on the different slopes of our estate we have been carrying out a micro-plot selection. The aim is to distinguish more precisely our different types of geological soil, and then to vinify our wines according to this differentiation.

Several terroirs have been identified:
- SIDEROLITHIC CLAY-LIMESTONE Strong presence of iron from the Tertiary period (-50 million years)
- KIMMERIDGIAN CLAY-LIMESTONE Presence of fossils from the Jurassic period (-150 million years)
- STAMPIAN CLAY-LIMESTONE Presence of white or grey marlstone, resulting from the erosion of lacustrine (lake) limestone (-25 million years).

KIMMERIDGIAN CLAY-LIMESTONE

In the Clos area, we have another dominant type of terroir. It is the ‘Kimmeridgian’ clay-limestone terroir. Coming from marine sediments charged with iodine, this geological level is very rare in France. It is found, in the north of Burgundy in Chablis particularly. It brings to our wine freshness, vivacity, minerality (a chalky note) and salinity.

STAMPIAN CLAY-LIMESTONE

Outside the Clos, we have a few ‘satellites’, five hectares (12 acres) in all, characterised by Stampian clay-limestone terroirs and located in the ‘Quercy Blanc’. These plots are destined for the production of our white wines (Chenin, Sauvignon, Viognier and Chardonnay); round, dominated by minerality and very expressive. We also produce on these plots our limited editions of red wines (Cabernet Franc, Jurançon noir, Gamay, Merlot, Malbec); thirst-quenching, light, fruit-filled wines. The white grape varieties were planted in 2004 when Emmanuel arrived on the estate.

SIDEROLITHIC CLAY-LIMESTONE

The Siderolithic clay-limestone terroir is the most abundant in our vineyard. It is located in the Clos area, a small hill situated within the village of Villesèque, covering 14 non-segmented hectares (35 acres). It is rare in our territory, representing only a maximum of 7% of the Cahors appellation. This terroir is composed of different concentrations of iron. These concentrations, known as ferruginous concretions, have enabled us to delimit very different plots. Each plot corresponds to a vintage (cuvée). This ferruginous element gives our appellation wines very airy profiles, minerality, elegance and delicacy.

Our historic Malbec grape variety has been planted on this land, Merlot and Tannat varieties have also been planted, and authorised to be vinified as an ‘accessory’ grape variety within the Cahors appellation. Since 2008, we have also planted on a north-facing plot of the Clos the Chenin grape variety. These vines will not produce the Cahors PDO (Protected Designation of Origin), because the white wines do not benefit from the designation (AOC – Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée).

 

THE K-OÙ

COME AND LIVE NEW EXPERIENCES WITH US
IN OUR BIG WINEGROWER'S LOFT !
Tasting, visit, k'as-croûte (wines and snacks), winegrower's meal...

DISCOVER IT !

0

Start typing and press Enter to search

NOTRE TERROIR

Notre terroir d’altitude (350 mètres) est à dominante argilo-calcaire. Cependant, depuis 2004, nous avons réalisé une sélection micro-parcellaire au sein de notre vignoble suivant le terroir et le climat que subissent les différents versants de notre domaine. Le but est de distinguer nos différents types de sol géologique encore plus précisément, pour ensuite vinifier nos vins selon cette différenciation.

Plusieurs terroirs ont été identifiés :
– Argilo-calcaire kimmeridgien : Présence de fossiles issus de la période jurassique (- 150 millions d’années)
– Argilo-calcaire sidérolithique : Présence forte de fer issu de la période tertiaire (- 50 millions d’années)
– Argilo-calcaire stampien : Présence de marnes blanches ou grises, issues de l’érosion du calcaire lacustre (-25 millions d’années).

ARGILO-CALCAIRE KIMMERIDGIEN

Dans la zone du Clos, nous possédons un autre type de terroir dominant. Il s’agit du terroir argilo-calcaire « kimméridgien ». Issu de sédiments marins chargés d’iode, cet étage géologique est très rare en France. On le retrouve à Chablis notamment, au nord de la Bourgogne. Il apporte à nos vins fraîcheur, vivacité, minéralité (côté crayeux) et salinité.

ARGILO-CALCAIRE STAMPIEN

En dehors du Clos, nous possédons quelques « satellites », cinq hectares en tout, caractérisés par des terroirs argilo-calcaires stampiens et localisés dans le « Quercy Blanc ». Ces parcelles sont destinées à la production de nos vins blancs (chenin, sauvignon, viognier et chardonnay) : ronds, dominés par la minéralité et très expressifs. Nous produisons également sur ces parcelles nos séries limitées en rouge (cabernet franc, jurançon noir, gamay, merlot, malbec) : des vins de soif, légers, gorgés de fruit. Les cépages blancs ont été plantés en 2004 lors de l’arrivée d’Emmanuel sur l’exploitation.

Crédits Images : Sandra Dobroschke www.photographie-pur.de

ARGILO-CALCAIRE SIDÉROLITHIQUE

Le terroir argilo-calcaire sidérolithique est le plus abondant sur notre vignoble. Il se trouve sur la zone du Clos, petite colline située sur la commune de Villesèque, soit 14 ha d’un seul tenant. C’est plutôt rare sur notre territoire : ce type de sol ne représente que 7% maximum de l’appellation Cahors. Ce terroir est composé de différentes concentrations en fer. Ces concentrations, dites concrétions ferrugineuses, nous ont permis de délimiter des parcelles bien différentes. Chaque parcelle correspond à une cuvée. Cet élément ferrugineux donne à nos vins d’appellation des profils très aériens, de la minéralité, de l’élégance et de la délicatesse.

Sur ce terroir ont été plantés notre cépage historique, le malbec, ainsi que le merlot et le tannat, autorisés à être vinifiés en cépage « accessoires » dans l’appellation Cahors. Depuis 2008, nous avons aussi planté dans le Clos du chenin, sur une parcelle exposée nord. Ces vignes ne produiront pas d’AOC Cahors, puisque les blancs ne bénéficient pas de l’appellation.

 

LE K-OÙ

VENEZ VIVRE DE NOUVELLES EXPÉRIENCES AVEC NOUS
DANS NOTRE GRAND LOFT VIGNERON !
Dégustation, visite, k’as-croûte, repas vigneron…

A DÉCOUVRIR ICI

0

Start typing and press Enter to search